The area called Strelley in Nottinghamshire can trace its history back to the Doomsday book 1086. The Queen Anne style Hall we see today has been built on the foundations of possibly a castle or fortified medieval manor house.
The medieval house did burn down and evidence still remains on the property.
The property was owned by the De Strelley family who can trace their ancestry back to William the Conquerer.
The De Strelleys never featured prominently in national occurrences but Sir Samson De Strelley did so locally, he was from knightly stock but did not behave so, he took and did what he wanted to whom he chose. He was a close associate of King John, which may well have influenced his appalling behaviour.
The manor remained in the Strelley family until 1678 when Nicolas Strelley gambled it all away. He put a curse on gambling at Strelley and is still believed to haunt the hall today.
The estate passed to Ralph Edge and remained in the Edge family until 1978 when the last surviving member of the family died Emily Mary Edge who was only permitted to use the hall as long as she was not married.
This beautiful building has housed many owners and servants and bore witness to periods of violence, desperation, loss and loneliness. Each area has a story to tell from the Panelled Room, Castle Room down into the tunnels and dungeons.
With so much history and reports of activity captured in every room, there is little question that this makes for a gem of a spooky location.
Group members will have the opportunity to use a comprehensive range of paranormal investigative equipment such as dousing rods, EMF meters, ‘Ghost Boxes’ (record voice phenomena) as well as participate in séances, glass divination and table tipping sessions.